Recent changes to Saskatchewan vaping laws

FEDERAL: Effective July 23, 2021, the sale of vaping products with a concentration of nicotine greater that 20 mg/ml is prohibited.
Effective September 1, 2021: Flavoured vaping products - other than tobacco, mint and menthol flavours - may only be sold online and in specialty vape stores. Tobacco, mint and menthol flavoured products can continue to be sold in other retail establishments.
Effective September 1, 2021: a provincial vapour products tax of 20% is applicable on the retail price of all vapour liquids, products and devices.
FEDERAL: Effective October 1, 2022, federal excise will begin to apply to vaping substances, increasing their price to consumers, at a rate dependent on the volume of the substance in each container purchased (e.g. in each vaping cartridge, pod or bottle of e-liquid). This excise rate is set at $1 per 2 mL of substance in each container up to 10 mL, plus $1 per 10 mL of liquid above that. By January 1, 2023, all vaping substances sold at retail must carry a federal “DUTY PAID” excise stamp.  The federal excise will not apply to vaping devices, batteries or other accessories.